Overview of Autologous Stem Cell Transplant

High-dose chemotherapy is an integral component of the overall treatment strategy of non-Hodgkin lymphomas for many patients up to the age of 70. Non-Hodgkin’s lymphomas are actually several different cancers that are currently classified by two different systems. The International Working Formulation (IWF) system classifies non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma into 3 broad categories or grades based on the way cells appear under the microscope.

International Working FormulationClassification of Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma
High Grade:
Intermediate Grade:
Low Grade:

The Revised European American Lymphoma (REAL) system classifies non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma into several distinct cancers based on whether the lymphoma has increased and/or whether the cancer involves abnormal B or T lymphocytes. To learn more about the role of autologous stem cell transplantation for the treatment of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, select the relevant type of lymphoma . Rare or uncommon lymphomas may not be listed.

Revised European AmericanLymphoma (REAL) Classification
  • Lymphoplasmacytic Lymphoma
  • Mantle Cell Lymphoma
  • Marginal Zone B-Cell Lymphoma
  • MALToma

Copyright © 2017 Omni Health Media. All Rights Reserved.